2nd Experts Workshop

CPS20: CPS 20 years from now - visions and challenges
CyPhERS 2nd Experts Workshop
CPSWeek 2014, Berlin, Germany, April 14 2014

The CyPhERS project ("Cyber-Physical European Roadmap and Strategy") aims at a strategic research and innovation agenda for Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) as well as recommendations for action for the European Commission. CyPhERS surveys, analyses, and evaluates the economic, technical, scientific, and societal impact of CPS. CyPhERS organizes the CPS20 workshop in order to, on the one hand, validate reached results and conclusions and, on the other, elicit further and deeper discernments.

The CPS20 workshop provides multiple scientific and industrial communities with a forum for

  • the exchange of CPS visions and challenges as well as
  • the elaboration of strategies to those ends.

In particular, goal of the workshop is to gather insights regarding foundations, technology and methodologies for the design and production of large scale CPS that enable the realization of smart cities and even of the smart Earth. The outcome will thus help towards the clarification of the various interpretations, commonalities, and differences, thereby paving the way for a more structured and well‐founded approach to future CPS roadmaps and initiatives, including research and technology, education and training, ecosystems and standards.

Besides invited talks and position papers, the workshop will include an interactive panel for discussions addressing the following topics:

  • Visions and challenges of technological, organizational, business and societal nature
  • Roadmaps for CPS – suggested course of action that meet defined visions and challenges
  • Experiences from regional and international efforts already undertaken or under way

Representatives from academia, industry and policy making are invited to take part of this event.

Keynote speakers

Karl-Erik Årzén, integrated control and real-time systems (Lund University)
Alexandre Bayen, mobile internet applications and participatory sensing (University of California at Berkeley)
Elena Fersman, combined web and telecom technologies (Ericsson Research)


09:00 - 09:20 CyPhERS presentation
09:20 - 09:40 SPECifIC: A New Design Flow for Cyber-Physical Systems
Christoph Lüth, Serge Autexier, Dieter Hutter, Mathias Soeken, Robert Wille, Rolf Drechsler
09:40 - 10:20 Keynote lecture: Challenges and Visions for CPS
Karl-Erik Årzén
10:20 - 11:00 Discussion
11:00 - 11:30 coffee break
11:30 - 11:50 Of the applicability of model based software development to cyber physical production systems
Oliver Niggemann, Björn Kroll
11:50 - 12:30 Keynote lecture: Games in transportation networks: leveraging the power of smartphones for traffic monitoring and management
Alexandre Bayen
12:30 - 13:00 Discussion
13:00 - 14:00 lunch
14:00 - 14:20 Are we Losing Focus on the Cyber-Physical Aspects in the CPS Research Agenda?
Marco Di Natale, Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli
14:20 - 14:40 The Role of Models in Engineering of Cyber-Physical Systems: Challenges and Possibilities
Bernhard Schätz
14:40 - 15:20 Keynote lecture: Towards Intelligent Management and Operations of Cyber-Physical Systems
Elena Fersman
15:20 - 16:00 Discussion
16:00 - 16:30 coffee break
16:30 - 16:50 Open CPS Platforms
Jesús Ángel García Sánchez, Jorge Rodríguez Vázquez
16:50 - 17:30 Panel
17:30 - 18:00 wrap up, farewell

Important dates

Workshop: April 14th, 2014
Early registration deadline: March 7th, 2014
Hotel reservation deadline: March 17th, 2014
For information on the conference, venue and registration please visit cpsweek.org


(Download the preproceedings in pdf format.)

Organizing Committee

Saddek Bensalem, Université Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France
María Victoria Cengarle, fortiss GmbH, Munich, Germany
John McDermid, The University of York, UK
Roberto Passerone, University of Trento, Italy
Thomas Runkler, Siemens AG, Munich, Germany
Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, University of Trento/UC Berkeley
Martin Törngren, KTH, Stockholm, Sweden

Program Committee

Richard Banach, University of Manchester, UK
Manfred Broy, TU München, Germany
Michael Butler, University of Southampton, UK
Marco Di Natale, Università di Pisa, Italy
Julien Francq, Cassidian CyberSecurity, France
Jesús Ángel García Sánchez, INDRA, Spain
Marco Roveri, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Jonathan Sprinkle, University of Arizona, USA
Walid Taha, University of Halmstad, Sweden
Dirk Schulz, ABB, Germany
Hans Vangheluwe, Universiteit Antwerpen, Belgium, and McGill University, Canada